America the Divided

This morning, I woke up sad. 

I am not only sad for the fact that someone as insulting as Trump could be elected, but I am also sad for us as a country. Now, this is not necessarily because I think we will be run into the ground – although I am very nervous for the future of our nation – I am sad for us because we just took so many steps back. I, in no way, was a strong supporter of either candidate. They both had major flaws that scared me.

As a country, we should be brave. We should be strong and stand together. As fellow citizens, we should be willing to back each other up, to help one another out. We should be PROUD of our country. We should be waving our flags and moving on. We should be welcoming new people, encouraging them to bring their culture and their ideas. 

After this election, all of that goes out the window. I am praying that I am proven wrong. I truly hope that we come together as a country, that this man, and supporters of both candidates, can put their differences aside and keep working to be the best nation on the planet. 

It’s time to step up. It’s time to stand together and back each other up. 

Now, I’m not saying I know a lot about politics, I am not some political expert who follows every aspect. I know there are plenty of things I don’t know, but I do know that we will never make it if we are constantly grabbing at each other’s throats. It’s time to put on our big kid pants and learn how to play nice. 

I may not be a fan of our president, but I am a fan of our country

At this point, we must focus on what we can do right; how can we make this better? What can we do, as a country, to TRULY make America great again?

God bless, and stay safe. 

Leave a Reply

