Wellness Wednesday is Back!

Now, last Wednesday I talked a lot about health. This Wednesday, I want to focus on the health of your mind and happiness, because those are equally as important. 

As I said in my about the author, Miranda Lambert is my spirit animal. I love her music and her attitude – she stays real and doesn’t try to hide her flaws. 

Her new (DOUBLE!!!!!!!!) album just came out and I’m already in love. She has a lot of awesome songs on there that really help tell the story about the last year or so of her life. There’s one on there, though, that sticks with me the most: Runnin Just In Case. 

The last line of this song is “happiness ain’t prison, but there’s freedom in a broken heart.” 

This line struck me so hard. I know so many people, myself included, who have struggled with the idea of ending something – whether it be a relationship, a habit, a lifestyle, or something completely different. 

In regards to a relationship; 

  • we’re worried about being alone
  • we’re comfortable where we are so we don’t want to change it
  • we’re too scared to make a move. 

In regards to a habit or a lifestyle; 

  • it just seems like a burden to change the way we eat, or 
  • plan out the way we spend money, or 
  • wake up earlier and go to sleep earlier 

 We fear change. And that’s okay, it’s how we handle it that makes it a problem. 

When I first heard that line, I played it back probably 3 times, and I really had to think about the meaning. 

And then it hit me. 

There IS freedom in a broken heart. You find yourself, you find out how to live without someone else, or something else, that you’re so used to having. You learn about how strong you truly are, and that you CAN make it through and do anything you set your mind to. You learn who your TRUE FRIENDS are. Making a drastic change is stressful and it’s painful, your true friends will be there to help you pick up the pieces. 

The most important thing when talking about relationships, is realizing there is life OUTSIDE of love. You will be happy again, you will be strong and make it through. You’ll meet other people, find new friends and new hobbies. You will get there, you just have to be willing to do it. 

So here’s to another challenge!! This time, I challenge you to be happy! I know it sounds silly, but it can be hard to make that move! Baby steps are the perfect place to start, evaluate your happiness, and prioritize what you need to do to get there. Don’t wait until the new year for that resolution (because those always die by February 1st). Start the year off right by starting on the right path, instead of starting with having to make a scary change. 

And to you, Miranda Lambert, THANK YOU! Your music, interviews, posts and stories have inspired me in so many ways. Thank you for staying true to yourself, and for never trying to hide who you are. Writing is my passion, and having your idol speak to you in their song to inspire a reason to write is truly an incredible feeling. 

And since I know you all want to be just as obsessed as I am, here’s Runnin Just In Case!

2 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday is Back!

  1. Naaria says:

    Love this! It’s so true that there’s freedom in a broken heart. All of the most profound growth periods in my life followed a breakup. It hurts like hell in the moment, but it’s always been worth fighting through the pain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

